DIY Wall Art


What can you create with a cabinet door, burlap sacks, dollar store frames, and foam board? Super cheap wall art!

First, I had to rip out the seams and iron the burlap sacks. Then, use hot glue to cover your foam board with it. My cabinet doors were already painted white, so I just painted them a cute blue, distressed with sand paper, and gave them a light glazing. I spray painted the frames with my heirloom white, distressed with sand paper, and glazed them.

So, I had all these cute pieces to layer, but then my hubby, Mr. Not So DIY Guy, asked, “how are you going to attach all that and be able to change out the pictures?” Hmmm….good question! So, after many ideas that failed, I simply hammered two nails in the cabinet and hung them on there! Then I used a saw-tooth hanger and nailed it all the way through the foam board and into the cabinet. I liked this because they were attached well, but allowed for a little movement if they weren’t perfectly straight. I made two of these and am planning to hang them above my new couch, if it ever arrives!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Ellen

Leave a comment